• Pre-Hospital Stroke Scale
    1. The Cincinnati Prehospital Stroke Scale (CPSS)
      • Evaluates: facial droop, arm drift, and speech 
    2. The Lost Angeles pre-hospital stroke screen (LAPSS)
      • Evaluates: facial paresis, hand grip weakness, and arm drift
  • Hospital Stroke Scales 
    1. Glasgow Coma Scale (GCS) 
      • Measures level of consciousness in patients (developed to assess patients after traumatic injury) 
      • Evaluates: eye-opening, motor, and verbal responses
      • Scale ranges from 3-15 
ScoreDegree of Brain Injury
15Fully conscious 
  1. National Institutes of Health Stroke Scale (NIHSS)
    • Gold standard and guideline recommended scale 
    • Measure of neurologic deficit to help assess stroke severity
    • Evaluates: Level of consciousness, response to commands, gaze, visual fields, facial movement, motor function, sensory, language including quality of speech, and inattention  
    • Scale ranges from 0 to 42. Higher numbers reflect a higher degree/severity of neurologic deficit. 
ScoreStroke Severity
1-4Minor Stroke
0-15Moderate Stroke
16-20Moderate to Severe Stroke
21-42Severe Stroke

3. Modified Rankin Scale (mRS)

  • Describes the degree of functional outcome after an individual experiences a stroke 
  • Scale ranges from 0 to 6
ScoreDegree of Disability
0No symptoms
1No significant disability
2Slight disability
3Moderate disability
4Moderately severe disability
5Severe disability